Countdown to the Women's World Cup: 8 days to go

There is little more than a week to go before the FIFA Women's World Cup France 2019™ kicks off at Parc des Princes in Paris.

The opening fixture will see hosts France take on Korea Republic at 9.00pm local time on Friday week (7 June; 5.00am, 8 June, AEST), with the Westfield Matildas in action for the first time when they face Italy in Valenciennes on Sunday 9 June at 1.00pm local time (9.00pm AEST). is running a series of features counting down the days until the Westfield Matildas begin their World Cup journey, continuing today with No.8...

World Cup Countdown_8 days to go_graphic

CUP COUNTDOWN: 262524232221201918171615, 14131211, 10, 9 days to go
WATCH: My Westfield Matildas Story, with Sam Kerr

Germany take on Nigeria at 1991 Women's World Cup
Big crowds turned out for the inaugural Women's World Cup in 1991, as seen here as Germany take on Nigeria in Jiangmen

While France 2019 will see the Westfield Matildas contest their seventh FIFA Women's World Cup, the competition will enjoy its eighth edition this northern summer. 

Australia did not qualify for the inaugural event, which took place in China in November 1991 and carried with it the rather unwieldy title of the 1st FIFA World Championship for Women's Football for the M&Ms Cup.

How to watch the FIFA Women's World Cup

Twelve teams qualified for the historic tournament, with New Zealand representing the Oceania confederation under which Australia competed at the time. 

The other 11 sides were: Nigeria (Africa), China PR, Japan and Chinese Taipei (all Asia), Brazil (South America), Denmark, Germany, Italy, Norway and Sweden (all Europe), and the United States (North America, Central America and Caribbean).

The M&Ms Cup was lifted for the first – and only – time by the USA, who beat Norway 2-1 in the final in Guangzhou. 

READ MORE: Yallop expecting unrivalled atmosphere in France as World Cup nears
WATCH: The time is now, says record goalscorer Lisa De Vanna

GET TO KNOW THE SQUAD: Goalkeepersdefendersmidfieldersforwards

1991 FIFA Women's World Cup winners USA
The proud winners of the M&Ms Cup, and the first women's world champions, the USA

FIFA Women’s World Cup France 2019™ – Group C – Australia Matches

Australia v Italy
Date: Sunday, 9 June 2019 (AEST)
Venue: Stade du Hainaut, Valenciennes
Kick-off: 9.00pm AEST (1.00pm local time, same day)

Australia v Brazil
Date: Friday, 14 June 2019 (AEST)
Venue: Stade de la Mosson, Montpellier
Kick-off: 2.00am AEST (6.00pm local time, Thursday 13 June)

Jamaica v Australia
Date: Wednesday, 19 June 2019 (AEST)
Venue: Stade des Alpes, Grenoble
Kick-off: 5.00am AEST (9.00pm local time, Tuesday 18 June)

Click below to #GetOnside for the FIFA Women's World Cup 2023™ in Australia