Countdown to the Women's World Cup: 1 day to go

This is it. The time has arrived, and the FIFA Women's World Cup France 2019™ is all set for kick-off at Parc des Princes in Paris.

The opening fixture will see hosts France take on Korea Republic at 9.00pm local time on Friday (7 June; 5.00am, 8 June, AEST), with the Matildas in action for the first time when they face Italy in Valenciennes on Sunday 9 June at 1.00pm local time (9.00pm AEST). is running a series of features counting down the days until the 2019 World Cup begins, culminating today with No.1...

World Cup Countdown_1 day to go_graphic

CUP COUNTDOWN: 201918171615, 14131211109 876543, 2 days to go
WATCH: My Matildas Story, with Sam Kerr

USA women lift 1991 World Cup
Team USA were delighted to get their hands on the M&Ms Cup back in 1991

There is only one FIFA Women's World Cup (current version pictured at top of this page), but the first time the competition ran it was known as 'The 1st FIFA World Championship for Women's Football for the M&Ms Cup'. 

Held in China, the tournament was contested by 12 teams. New Zealand represented the Oceania federation of which Australia was then a part, making the 1991 World Cup the only one at which the Matildas have not played a part. 

How to Watch FIFA Women's World Cup 2019

The United States hoisted aloft the inaugural trophy, beating Norway 2-1 in the final courtesy of two goals from striker Michelle Akers.  

By the time the next tournament came around, in 1995, it had been re-branded as the FIFA Women's World Cup and welcomed Australia for the first time.  

LIVE BLOG: All the news and updates on the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup
WATCH: The time is now, says record goalscorer Lisa De Vanna

GET TO KNOW THE SQUAD: Goalkeepersdefendersmidfieldersforwards

First FIFA World Championship for Women's Football for the M&Ms Cup
They needed some long banners to include the full name of the first FIFA Women's World Cup, held in China in 1991

FIFA Women’s World Cup France 2019™ – Group C – Australia Matches

Australia v Italy
Date: Sunday, 9 June 2019 (AEST)
Venue: Stade du Hainaut, Valenciennes
Kick-off: 9.00pm AEST (1.00pm local time, same day)

Australia v Brazil
Date: Friday, 14 June 2019 (AEST)
Venue: Stade de la Mosson, Montpellier
Kick-off: 2.00am AEST (6.00pm local time, Thursday 13 June)

Jamaica v Australia
Date: Wednesday, 19 June 2019 (AEST)
Venue: Stade des Alpes, Grenoble
Kick-off: 5.00am AEST (9.00pm local time, Tuesday 18 June)

Click below to #GetOnside for the FIFA Women's World Cup 2023™ in Australia