Kerr nominated for The Best FIFA Women’s Player 2019 award

Westfield Matildas captain Sam Kerr has been nominated for The Best FIFA Women’s Player 2019 award.

The 25-year-old Perth Glory and Chicago Red Stars striker is part of a 12-woman shortlist vying for the prestigious prize.

BACKED: NSW Government behind Australia's FIFA Women's World Cup 2023 bid
WALTZING MATILDA: Show your support for Australia's 2023 World Cup bid

The award - which was won last year by Brazil icon Marta - is based on footballing achievements from May 25 2018 to July 7 2019 inclusive.


During that specified period of time, Kerr won the National Women's Soccer League and Westfield W-League Golden Boots, each for the second consecutive season.

She also netted five goals in four FIFA Women's World Cup matches to guide Ante Milicic's side to the Round of 16.

You can vote for Kerr HERE. The award winner will be revealed at The Best FIFA Football Awards show in Milan on September 23.

Who else has been nominated?

  • Lucy Bronze (England)
  • Julie Ertz (USA)
  • Caroline Graham Hansen (Norway)
  • Ada Hegerberg (Norway)
  • Amandine Henry (France)
  • Rose Lavelle (USA)
  • Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands)
  • Alex Morgan (USA)
  • Megan Rapinoe (USA)
  • Wendie Renard (France)
  • Ellen White (England)
Get Onside Limitless banner