Matildas name Asian Cup squad

Westfield Matildas Interim Head Coach Alen Stajcic has announced his squad for Australia’s title defence of the AFC Women’s Asian Cup in Vietnam this month.

Westfield Matildas Interim Head Coach Alen Stajcic has announced his squad for Australia-s title defence of the AFC Women-s Asian Cup in Vietnam this month.

Following a six day training camp on the Gold Coast, Stajcic finalised his 23-player squad for the tournament, which doubles as the qualifiers for next year-s FIFA Women-s World Cup in Canada.

Headlined by 2014 Julie Dolan Medallist (Westfield W-League Player of the Year) Tameka Butt and W-League Young Player of the Year Stephanie Catley, the squad also includes US-based quartet Lisa De Vanna, Caitlin Foord, Samantha Kerr and Lydia Williams, who are currently at clubs in the National Women-s Soccer League.

In all, 11 of the players selected (Teigen Allen, Tameka Butt, Kim Carroll, Casey Dumont, Lisa De Vanna, Kate Gill, Elise Kellond-Knight, Samantha Kerr, Leena Khamis, Clare Polkinghorne and Lydia Williams) were part of the Matildas- Women-s Asian Cup winning squad four years ago in China.

Stajcic admits the selection process was tough but that the competition for spots highlights the quality of talent that is coming through, something that ultimately augurs well for the Matildas as they attempt to defend their title.

“During the camp I was impressed with the quality and standard of football that the girls produced and we certainly have been blessed with having some really good depth to pick from,” Stajcic said.

“We have only been able to work together for a short time since I came in but we implemented some new things at the camp which they responded well to and I-m confident that this squad has the potential to be successful in Vietnam and give the tournament a good shake.”

The Westfield Matildas have been grouped alongside world champions Japan, Jordan and host nation Vietnam for the AFC Women-s Asian Cup.

The squad flies out for Ho Chi Minh City on Thursday 8 May ahead of its opening game of the tournament against Japan at Thong Nhat Stadium on Wednesday 14 May 2014 (Kick-Off 8.15pm local time, 11.15pm AEST).

The top five teams at the tournament will automatically qualify for the 2015 FIFA Women-s World Cup.

Fox Sports will provide live and exclusive coverage of the AFC Women's Asian Cup in Vietnam, featuring all matches of the Westfield Matildas.

Westfield Matildas Squad for AFC Women-s Asian Cup 2014 Teigen ALLEN - Defender (Western Sydney Wanderers) Laura ALLEWAY - Defender (Brisbane Roar) Nicola BOLGER - Midfielder (Sydney FC) Tameka BUTT - Midfielder (Brisbane Roar) Kim CARROLL - Defender (Brisbane Roar) Stephanie CATLEY - Defender (Melbourne Victory) Brianna DAVEY - Goalkeeper (Melbourne Victory) Lisa DE VANNA - Forward (Boston Breakers) Casey DUMONT - Goalkeeper (Sydney FC) Caitlin FOORD - Forward (Sky Blue FC, USA) Kate GILL - Forward (Perth Glory) Katrina GORRY - Midfielder (Brisbane Roar) Michelle HEYMAN - Forward (Canberra United) Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT - Midfielder (Brisbane Roar) Alanna KENNEDY - Defender (Western Sydney Wanderers) Samantha KERR - Midfielder (Western New York Flash, USA) Leena KHAMIS - Forward (Sydney FC) Teresa POLIAS - Midfielder (Sydney FC) Clare POLKINGHORNE - Defender (Brisbane Roar) Hayley RASO - Forward (Brisbane Roar) Ashleigh SYKES - Midfielder (Canberra United) Emily VAN EGMOND - Midfielder (Western Sydney Wanderers) Lydia WILLIAMS - Goalkeeper (Western New York Flash, USA)

Team Officials Head Coach: Alen Stajcic Assistant Coach: Ante Juric Goalkeeper Coach: Danny Milosevic Team Manager: Jo Fernandes

Westfield Matildas - AFC Women-s Asian Cup Match Schedule

Westfield Matildas v Japan

Wednesday, 14 May 2014

Thong Nhat Stadium, Ho Chi Minh Kick-Off 8:15pm local (11:15pm AEST)

Jordan v Westfield Matildas

Friday, 16 May 2014

Thong Nhat Stadium, Ho Chi Minh Kick-Off 5:15pm local (8:15pm AEST)

Vietnam v Westfield Matildas

Sunday, 18 May 2014

Thong Nhat Stadium, Ho Chi Minh Kick-Off 7:15pm local (10.15pm AEST)

Finals Schedule

5th v 6th Play-off

Wednesday, 21 May 2014 (Kick-Off 5:15pm local)

Semi Finals

Thursday 22 May 2014 (Kick-Off 5:15pm and 8:45pm local)

3rd v 4th Play-off

Sunday 25 May 2014 (Kick-Off 4.45pm local)


Sunday 25 May 2014 (Kick-Off 8.15pm local)

For further information about the AFC Women-s Asian Cup 2014, Click here