Kerr awaits Best FIFA Women's Player 2017 fate

Westfield Matildas star Sam Kerr is set to learn whether she remains in contention for the Best FIFA Women's Player 2017 award on Friday.

Logarzo: Kerr is world's best player

Kerr was one of 10 players short-listed for the award in August by world football’s governing body but the list is set to trimmed to three finalists on Friday (September 22).


The winner of this award will be chosen by a process involving the four main stakeholders involved in football: national team coaches, captains, selected media and the fans.

Fans had the opportunity to vote for their favourite player from 21 August to September 7.

The women’s awards take in the time span of 20 November 2016 to 6 August 2017 inclusive.

There was no stopping Sam Kerr in the NWSL over the weekend as she scored four goals for Sky Blue FC.

Stajcic's warriors fill us all with hope


Lucy Bronze  (ENG - Manchester City Women)
Deyna Castellanos  (VEN - Santa Clarita Blue Heat)
Pernille Harder  (DEN - Linkopings / VfL Wolfsburg (Women))
Sam Kerr  (AUS - Perth Glory / Sky Blue FC)
Carli Lloyd  (USA - Houston Dash / Manchester City Women)
Dzsenifer Marozsan  (GER - Olympique Lyonnais Feminin)
Lieke Martens  (NED - FC Barcelona Femeni)
Vivianne Miedema  (NED - Arsenal Women)
Wendie Renard  (FRA - Olympique Lyonnais Feminin)
Jodie Taylor  (ENG - Arsenal Women)

Analysis: why Matildas can win next World Cup


After a stellar 2016/17 Westfield W-League campaign, Kerr claimed the Julie Dolan Medal as the competition’s best player after her 10 goals led Perth Glory to the Grand Final.

Kerr then became the National Women’s Soccer League’s (NWSL) all-time leading scorer earlier this year with Sky Blue FC and equalled Kim Little’s record for most goals in a single NWSL season (16 goals).

Last month, she netted a first-half hat-trick for the Matildas against Japan at the Tournament of Nations and capped it off with a goal in Australia’s 6-1 demolition of Brazil.

The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony will be on Monday 23 October, where all winners will be presented with their awards.