Five things about our opponent: Netherlands

Ahead of the Westfield Matildas next game, here is a quick guide to our next opponents: the Netherlands!

Westfield Matildas Browser Extension Thin Banner

FIFA World Ranking: 4

Form: The Netherlands started 2020 with three straight draws at the Tournoi de France. The team then qualified for the Euros with an undefeated record. In their final four games of 2020, the Dutch scored 20 and conceded no goals. 

In the February window of this year, the Netherlands defeated Belgium and Germany, winning 6-1 and 2-1 respectively. 

Head to head: Australia and the Netherlands have faced off seven times in international matches. The Dutch have won two of those encounters, Australia three, and there have also been two draws. 

The most recent encounter was in the lead up to the FIFA Women's World Cup in 2019. A brace to Shanice van de Danden and a goal to Vivianne Miedema secured a 3-0 win for the Netherlands. 


Players: The Aussies at Arsenal will be very familiar with their opponents. The likes of Miedema - the joint top scorer in the FA WSL alongside Sam Kerr - and Danielle van de Donk, ply their trade under Joe Montemurro alongside Lydia Williams and Caitlin Foord. 

Barcelona star Lieke Martens will also be one to watch.  

READ: How to watch Westfield Matildas v Netherlands

READ: Beattie Goad achieves goal against Germany

Coach: Sarina Wiegman is a former player with over 100 caps for the Oranje Leeuwinnen. She coached at club level in the Netherlands before working her way up the ranks to become the head coach of the national team.

Wiegman was in charge when the Dutch won the UEFA Women's Euro in 2017 and took the team to the FIFA Women's World Cup final in 2019. 

Match Details

Netherlands v Westfield Matildas
Wednesday, 14 April 2021
Venue: NEC Stadium, Nijmegen
Kick Off: 2:30am (AEST) 
Broadcast: Live on FOX SPORTS, Kayo, ABC TV and My Football Live App

Please note that all dates & times listed are AEST. Kick-off in the Netherlands is on Tuesday, 13 April 2021 at 6:30pm local time.