CommBank Matildas Squad Update

CommBank Matildas Katrina Gorry, Clare Hunt and Courtney Nevin have been ruled out of Australia’s upcoming training camp and international friendly against Mexico in the United States during the April FIFA Women’s International Window.   

Gorry (ankle) was forced from the field during West Ham’s Women’s Super League clash on Sunday afternoon against Chelsea WFC. Meanwhile, Paris Saint-Germain defender Hunt (foot) and Leicester City WFC defender Nevin (hip) were both unavailable for their respective club fixtures over the weekend due to injury.   

The trio will remain in their club environments with no current return-to-play timelines set as further treatment evaluation continues.

In their place forward Emily Gielnik (Melbourne Victory FC), defender Winonah Heatley (FC Nordsjælland) and winger Sharn Freier (Brisbane Roar FC) have been called up to the final squad.

Since returning to full fitness following a run of injuries, Gielnik has tallied seven goals and two assists in 12 A-League Women’s matches, with the second-highest goals per-minute record. With 57 international caps to her name, the forward earns a return to the national team for the first time since June 2023.

Emily Gielnik (Melbourne Victory FC), defender Winonah Heatley (FC Nordsjælland) and winger Sharn Freier
Emily Gielnik, Winonah Heatley and Sharn Freier have been called into camp.

Having received her last call-up in 2022, Denmark-based Heatley returns off the back off two strong seasons with FC Nordsjælland including claiming the 2023 Danish Women's Cup. The 22-year-old is currently one of the top defenders in the Elitedivisionen, leading the league in defensive interceptions, blocked shots and ball progressions, while second in the league for final third passes.

Freier has been one of the leading lights for the Roar during the A-League Women’s season with the winger recording three goals and five assists. The 22-year-old currently leads the competition in key chances created and is third in overall chances created. After successfully recovering from ACL injury a season ago, this marks Freier’s first senior national team call up.

Australia will take on the current world number 31 at Toyota Field in San Antonio, Texas on Tuesday, 9 April 2024 (local) with kick off at 7.00pm CDT (10 April 2024 at 10.00am AEST) as they continue their preparations for Paris 2024.

The CommBank Matildas match against Mexico will air on Football Australia’s broadcast partner, Paramount ANZ.


Mexico v Australia
Date: Tuesday, 9 April 2024 (local) / Wed, 10 April 2024 (AUS)
Kick-off: 7.00pm (local) / 10.00am (AEST)
Venue: Toyota Field, San Antonio, TX
Broadcast: Paramount ANZ  


Mackenzie ARNOLDWest Ham United FC

46 (0)

Burleigh Heads SC / Football Queensland 
Ellie CARPENTER (VC)Olympique Lyon

74 (4)

Cowra and District JSC / Football New South Wales
Steph CATLEY (C)Arsenal WFC

123 (5)

East Bentleigh, SE Cougars / Football Victoria 

42 (0)

Bli Bli United FC / Football Queensland
Caitlin FOORDArsenal WFC

121 (35)

Warilla Wanderers / Football New South Wales 
Mary FOWLERManchester City WFC

50 (15) 

Leichhardt FC / Football Queensland 
Sharn FREIERBrisbane Roar FC

0 (0)

Moreton Bay United FC / Football Queensland
Emily GIELNIKMelbourne Victory FC

57 (11)

Redlands United / Football Queensland
Charlotte GRANTTottenham Hotspur FC

23 (1) 

Cumberland United Women’s FC / Football South Australia 
Winonah HEATLEYFC Nordsjælland

0 (0)

Mossman and Cairns / Football QLD
Michelle HEYMANCanberra United FC

63 (25)

Illawarra Stingrays / Football New South Wales
Alanna KENNEDYManchester City WFC

121 (9)

Campbelltown Cobras SC / Football New South Wales
Aivi LUIKBK Häcken

45 (1)

Palm Beach SC / Football Queensland
Teagan MICAHLiverpool WFC

17 (0)

Brisbane Blue, Brisbane Central / Football Queensland
Clare POLKINGHORNEKristianstads DFF

165 (16)

Wynnum Wolves, Capalaba Bulldogs / Football Queensland 
Hayley RASOReal Madrid Femenino

84 (16)

Palm Beach SC / Football Queensland
Amy SAYERKristianstads DFF

11 (1)

Northbridge FC / Football New South Wales
Kaitlyn TORPEYSan Diego Wave FC

2 (1)

Olympic FC / Football Queensland
Emily VAN EGMOND (VC)San Diego Wave FC

141 (31)

Dudley Redhead United FC / Northern NSW Football
Cortnee VINESydney FC

26 (3)

Peninsula Power FC / Football Queensland
Clare WHEELEREverton WFC

18 (1)

Adamstown Rosebud / Northern NSW Football
Jada WHYMANSydney FC

0 (0)

Tolland Football Club / Football New South Wales
Tameka YALLOPBrisbane Roar FC

121 (13)

Mudgeeraba SC / Football Queensland