Westfield Matildas coach Stajcic to head up NAB Young Footballer of the Year panel

Westfield Matildas coach Alen Stajcic will head up a panel of experts to determine nominees for the 2018/19 NAB Young Footballer of the Year.

An array of Westfield Matildas stars have won the award in recent years for their Westfield W-League performances, including Steph Catley, Kyah Simon, Elise Kellond-Knight and, most recently, Ellie Carpenter.

Carpenter won the award for her outstanding 2017/18 Season with Canberra United and is eligible to go back-to-back in the current campaign.

CARPENTER’S NEXT BIG GOAL: Teenage star reveals next dream
HOW TO WATCH: All the action in Westfield W-League Round 5

But she will face plenty of competition as the annual award - recognising the Westfield W-League and Hyundai A-League’s best performing young players - shines a light on Australia’s emerging football talent.

And while Stajcic fronts the expert panel, it is the supporters who will have the final say by choosing the 2018/19 winner.

How does it work?

The panel of experts - Alen Stajcic, Sarah Walsh, Amy Duggan and Teo Pellizzeri - submit votes on a 3-2-1 basis to recognise the best performing young player each month.

That player is rewarded by being nominated for the end-of-season award. 

A player can only be nominated once. At the end of the season, six players will have been nominated and, from that shortlist, fans will decide the winner of the NAB Young Footballer of the Year. 

Ellie Carpenter


Supporters can vote via a poll at w-league.com.au, with the most popular nominee announced as the winner at the Dolan Warren Awards.

Players must be aged 19 or under to be eligible for the award. Any players who receive a red card during the Westfield W-League season are ruled out of the running.

The winner receives a $10,000 personal investment portfolio from NAB and a NAB Private Client Manager to assist with a range of banking and financial services.

Who are the past winners?

Carpenter and Daniel Arzani are the reigning NAB Young Footballers of the Year.

Six other players have also claimed the honour for their Westfield W-League exploits.

2017/18: Ellie Carpenter (Canberra United)
2016/17: Remy Siemsen (Sydney FC)
2014/15: Amy Harrison (Sydney FC)
2013/14: Steph Catley (Melbourne Victory)
2012/13: Steph Catley (Melbourne Victory)
2011/12: Ashley Brown (Melbourne Victory)
2010/11: Kyah Simon (Sydney FC)
2009/10: Elise Kellond-Knight (Brisbane Roar)