Westfield Matildas at Melbourne Victory in 2018/19

After a seventh placed Westfield W-League finish last season, Melbourne Victory will be boosted by the addition of Westfield Matilda Emily Gielnik.

The 26-year-old is a handful for defenders either through the middle or out wide and continues to be a handy impact weapon for Australia six years on from her debut.

That Victory conceded the fewest goals of any team outside the top four in 2017/18 suggests they are as likely as any to climb into contention, and comes as no surprise given their talents in defence.

Centre-back Laura Alleway is an ever-present figure within the Westfield Matildas, while goalkeeper Casey Dumont was a member of the squad that won the AFC Women’s Asian Cup in 2010.

MEMBERSHIP: Become a Westfield W-League club member today

Melbourne Victory Westfield W-League 2018/19 fixtures

Round 1: Melbourne Victory v Adelaide United, AAMI Park, Sunday 28 October, 4:15pm local
Round 2: Melbourne Victory v Newcastle Jets, Lakeside Stadium, Thursday 1 November, 7:30pm local
Round 3: Melbourne City v Melbourne Victory, AAMI Park, Friday 16 November, 7:30pm local
Round 4: Sydney FC v Melbourne Victory, Jubilee Stadium, Sunday 25 November, 2:30pm local
Round 5: Melbourne Victory v Western Sydney Wanderers, Latrobe City Stadium, Sunday 2 December, 4:00pm local
Round 6: Bye
Round 7: Brisbane Roar v Melbourne Victory, Lions Stadium, Sunday 16 December, 3:00pm local
Round 8: Adelaide United v Melbourne Victory, Marden Sports Complex, Friday 21 December, 7:00pm local
Round 9: Melbourne Victory v Perth Glory, AAMI Park, Friday 28 December, 5:20pm local
Round 10: Melbourne Victory v Melbourne City, Epping Stadium, Saturday 5 January 2019, 4:00pm local
Round 11: Bye
Round 12: Canberra United v Melbourne Victory, Seiffert Oval, Thursday 17 January 2019, 7:30pm local
Round 13: Melbourne Victory v Sydney FC, Epping Stadium, Sunday 27 January 2019, 4:00pm local
Round 14: Perth Glory v Melbourne Victory, Dorrien Gardens, Friday 1 February 2019, 7:00pm local

Westfield Matildas around the Westfield W-League

Adelaide United
Brisbane Roar
Canberra United
Melbourne City
Newcastle Jets
Perth Glory
Sydney FC
Western Sydney Wanderers