Westfield Matildas duo nominated for AFC's top award

Lisa De Vanna and Caitlin Foord have been nominated by Asian Football Confederation (AFC) for this year’s AFC Player of the Year Award in the women's category.

The star duo have been nominated along with Tan Ruyin of China. 

Foord is one of the most exciting players to come through the national team in recent years. She was part of the Matildas squad at the Olympic Games in Rio in August and played for Australia as a 16-year-old at the 2011 FIFA Women's World Cup where she was named best young player. 

De Vanna is a Westfield Matildas legend, the livewire striker making over 100 appearances for Australia including three FIFA Women's World Cups, and two AFC Asian Women's Cups and two Olympics. 

Striker Lisa De Vanna celebrates scoring against New Zealand in a friendly.

The nominees in the men's category are:

Omar Abdulrahman (UAE)
Hammadi Ahmed Aldeeaa (IRQ)
Wu Lei (CHN)

This year’s annual celebration of Asian football will take place in Abu Dhabi on December 1.