PFA award for Westfield Matildas star Kerr

Westfield Matildas and Perth Glory attacker Sam Kerr has capped a remarkable season, named the PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year for the second straight year.

Kerr not only starred for Australia at the Tournament of Nations and this year’s AFC Women’s Asian Cup but was also voted the best player in America’s National Women’s Soccer League and set a goal-scoring record with 17 in a single season.

The 24-year-old was also named the AFC Women’s Football of the Year as well as being named the Julie Dolan Medal for the Westfield W-League 2016/17 Season and 2017/18 Season (alongside Clare Polkinghorne).

Currently playing in the NWSL with the Chicago Red Stars, Kerr has scored five goals this season, and will be a key figure for the Westfield Matildas as they aim to defend their Tournament of Nations title later this month.

It is the 25th year the PFA have handed out the awards, marking the occasion with a gala dinner and ceremony at ANZ Stadium.

In other awards presented, Caltex Socceroos playmaker Aaron Mooy was named the Men’s Footballer of the year

It’s the third year in a row Mooy has won the prestigious accolade, voted on by his peers.

The 27-year-old is coming off a superb campaign for Huddersfield Town in his first season in the English Premier League, as well as starring for the Caltex Socceroos at the FIFA World Cup™ in Russia.

Adelaide United midfielder Alex Chidiac – currently playing with the Westfield Young Matildas – took out the Young Women's Footballer prize.

2018 PFA Awards in full:

PFA Community Medal - Nigel Boogaard (Newcastle Jets)
PFA Young Women's Footballer of the Year - Alex Chidiac (Adelaide United)
PFA Women's Footballer of the Year - Sam Kerr (Chicago Red Stars)
PFA Harry Kewell Medal: Daniel Arzani (Melbourne City)
PFA Men's Footballer of the Year: Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town)
PFA Alex Tobin OAM Medal: Paul Okon