Official: Westfield Matildas to defend Tournament of Nations crown

The Westfield Matildas will be seeking to defend their Tournament of Nations crown in July and August this year when the second edition of the four-team tournament is held by U.S. Soccer in Kansas City, Connecticut, and Illinois.

Last year the Westfield Matildas shot to international sporting prominence by lifting the inaugural Tournament of Nations in the United States, winning all three of their fixtures against hosts USA, Brazil, and Japan.

On Wednesday (local time), U.S. Soccer confirmed the match dates, locations and kick-off times of this year’s Tournament of Nations, which will include the same nations as 2017.

The competition format will also be the same as last year’s tournament with the four teams each participating in three double-header events at three different venues over an eight-day period.

Alen Stajcic’s side will open their campaign against Brazil on Thursday, 26 July (local time) at Children’s Mercy Park in Kansas City. Australia will then venture to Connecticut to tackle the United States at Pratt & Whitney Stadium on Sunday, 29 July (local time), before rounding out their campaign against Japan at Toyota Park in Illinois on Thursday, 2 August (local time).


Lisa De Vanna lifts the Tournament of Nations trophy after Australia thumped Brazil 6-1 in the USA.
Lisa De Vanna lifts the 2017 Tournament of Nations trophy.

All three of the Westfield Matildas’ matches at the 2018 Tournament of Nations will be broadcast LIVE in Australia via FOX SPORTS.

The winner of the tournament will be based on total points (three for a win, one for a draw), with the first tie-breaker being overall goal difference, followed by most total tournament goals scored, then head-to-head result and, lastly, FIFA Ranking if necessary.

By bringing these four elite women’s football nations together, the Tournament of Nations continues to shine a spotlight on the growing competitive stature of the women’s game and its ability to create connections across geography and culture.

The 2018 Tournament of Nations will celebrate some of the world’s premier women’s football players, many of whom compete in the National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL). There are currently 10 Australian players, seven Brazilian players and four Japanese players in the NWSL.

Most of the players involved in the 2018 Tournament of Nations will be on the world stage next summer in France.

Australia and Japan qualified for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup by finishing first and second, respectively, in Group B at the 2018 AFC Women’s Asian Cup in Jordan.

Matildas players celebrate a goal in their 6-1 win over Brazil at the Tournament of Nations.
Matildas players celebrate a goal in their 6-1 win over Brazil at the Tournament of Nations.

Meanwhile, Brazil qualified by finishing in first place in the final stage of the 2018 Copa América Femenina in Chile, and United States will be aiming to book their ticket to France when they host the 2018 CONCACAF Women’s Championship in October 2018.

U.S. Soccer plans to host the Tournament of Nations every summer during years that do not feature a FIFA Women’s World Cup or Olympic Games, meaning the next edition would be staged in 2021.

2018 Tournament of Nations – Westfield Matildas Match Schedule

Brazil v Westfield Matildas
Thursday, 26 July 2018 (local)
Venue: Children’s Mercy Park, Kansas City, Kansas
Kick-off: 3.15pm (local) (6.15am AEST – Friday, 27 July 2018)
Broadcast: LIVE in Australia on FOX SPORTS

USA v Westfield Matildas
Sunday, 29 July 2018 (local)
Venue: Pratt & Whitney Stadium, East Hartford, Connecticut
Kick-off: 7pm (local) (9am AEST – Monday, 30 July 2018)
Broadcast: LIVE in Australia on FOX SPORTS

Westfield Matildas v Japan
Thursday, 2 August 2018 (local)
Venue: Toyota Park, Bridgeview, Illinois
Kick-off: 4.45pm (local) (7.45am AEST – Friday, 3 August 2018)
Broadcast: LIVE in Australia on FOX SPORTS