Matildas at Home: Melbourne Victory go back-to-back in A-League Women

Melbourne Victory has created a little bit of history by becoming only the second team to win consecutive A-League Women's championships with their 2-1 defeat of Sydney FC.

AUS v NZL TSV Get Tickets Now

Barring the Melbourne City side which won three straight titles between 2016 and 2018, no other team had been able to replicate their success from the season prior. 

Victory had to take a long way round to get to the grand final defeating Adelaide United and Melbourne City before locking in a date with Sydney FC. 

The Sky Blues were the best team all season, finishing top of the table and losing only once in 15 games. 

Ante Juric's side was bested by Victory in last season's decider and looked set to right the wrongs of 2021 by coming out of the gates strongly. 

Nat Tobin's header and a shot from Remy Siemsen had Sydney in the early ascendency. Cortnee Vine and Princess Ibini attacked down their respective wings while Mackenzie Hawkesby's set pieces were dangerous as ever. 

Casey Dumont was called on from the get-go and would ultimately go on to win the player of the match. Her crucial interventions to deny Ibini and Hawkesby in the first half kept her side in it. 

Victory's best chance of the opening half came via an Alex Chidiac corner but it was all Sky Blue as the teams somehow entered the break scoreless.  

READ: PFA names A-League Women’s Team of the Season

NEWS: CommBank Matildas to play historic home international in Townsville

MORE: Jessika Nash receives Collette McCallum Medal

Siemsen almost got Sydney off to the perfect start in the second half but it was instead Victory who found the opener through an Amy Jackson header. 

Kyra Cooney-Cross' pinpoint delivery from the second phase of a Courtney Nevin corner helped get the visitors onto the scoreboard first. 

In what was a bruising and sometimes firey encounter, Victory would double their lead in the 64th minute through Catherine Zimmerman. 

AUS v NZL CBR Get Tickets Now

Lia Privitelli's cross found Melina Ayres who unleashed a shot directly into Charlie Rule. The rebound was driven home by Zimmerman through the legs of Jada Whyman. 

Sydney didn't take long to reply and try and kickstart the comeback. The ball went out for a corner almost immediately from the restart and it was a pair of Commonwealth Bank Matildas who combined to peg one back. 

Hawkesby's corner found Rule whose header was initially saved by Dumont. But the 'keeper couldn't stop Vine's follow up poacher's goal. 

The Sky Blues tried with all their might to break Victory down and avoid a fourth grand final loss in their fifth straight decider. 

But the Melbourne defence held firm ensuring the team in navy hoisted up the trophy for the third time ever.